Skip to content

Turks and Caicos: Simply Divine

August 1, 2011

Map of Turks and Caicos Islands (photo property of Villa Palmera, Turks and Caicos)

There is just something just so magical about taking a much needed vacation.

In June, my boyfriend and I traveled to the picturesque island of Providenciales, the main island of the Turks and Caicos. I am fortunate that it was (I believe) my 7th trip to the Caribbean but it was Chris’s first.  I realized that I sometimes take for granted the absolutely stunning natural beautiful of these Caribbean Islands, and this trip was a great reminder of how lucky I’ve been.

We arrived late on a Sunday night, picked up our Avis rental car (which will run you about $500 a week but SO worth it ) and checked into the Comfort Inn Suites for the night. It was my first time staying at hotel on the island (the tenant at “my” house was leaving Monday morning) but it was an effortless experience. I would recommend the Comfort Inn Suites to budget travelers, but I would definitely suggest researching what other options/specials are available.  Our trip consisted of several incredible adventures & nights out- but I’ll just list the highlights.

Diving with Flamingo Divers: Tripadvisor was right. Diving with Flamingo Divers is a must for divers that crave small boats and personal attention. Run by owners Mickey and Jane, this is one of those diving trips that ruin other diving experiences because it’s so great. Two tanks dives are daily, but make sure to book far in advance. I called 5 weeks before my trip and could only get one day of diving with them!

Diving with Caicos Adventures: On our second day of diving, Chris and I went with Caicos Adventures on 3-tank dive safari. After diving with Flamingo Divers- this place had a lot to live up too. Luckily, we were on a smaller boat (only about 8 people) – the 2 tank dive boat held about 20 divers. Matthew- our dive instructor -made this trip. He was not only extremely knowledgeable, but fun, witty and a fantastic diver.  If you dive with Cacios Adventures, make sure he’s your on his boat. This place didn’t require booking too far in advance, but I would definitely recommend it during summer months.

Exploring Grace Bay: Cliche, I know, but it’s obvious why it was named Tripadvisor’s Best Beach in the World. Grace Bay is absolutely stunning. You can’t really go wrong anywhere on this stretch of beach but I highly recommend the area right across from Ports of Call.

Chris relaxing...

Eating Out: Pick up any dining guide on island and it will list all the latest hot spots. Of all the places we indulged, Las Brisas on Chalk Sound was by far my favorite. The food, drinks, servers, ambiance, everything…was just perfect. This restaurant is out of the way for most tourists, but the tranquil setting and delicious appetizers and entrees are worth the trip.

Chalk Sound: I’m slightly bias because my parent’s house is on Chalk Sound, but I guarantee it will be the most beautiful blue water you will ever see. Stop by the beach at Taylor bay or kayak through the sound- it’s the perfect way to get out of the tourist path and enjoy the real reason you took a vacation in the Caribbean!

Stargazing: Coming from Los Angeles, I don’t see the stars very much. If you can, get away from the congestion of the island and take a few minute minutes to look at the stars.

If a Caribbean vacation is in your future, the Turks and Caicos Islands will live up to even your highest expectations. And if you need anymore tips or advice, message me!

Me! (photo by Christopher Wheatley)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 2:31 am

    my goodness, looks like paradise!
    http://sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com/

    • Jenna Markowick permalink*
      August 2, 2011 9:55 am

      It is! Checked out your blog-it’s fantastic! I want to visit Abu Dhabi 🙂

  2. August 2, 2011 12:33 am

    Nice photo !

Leave a Reply

