Skip to content

Day 20 of a 30 Day Meditation Challenge

January 21, 2012

Back on January 2, 2012, my boyfriend and I made a pack- we would meditate for 30 days straight. No exceptions or excuses. This came about not as a news year’s resolution (even though it would have been a good one), but because meditation was one of those “things” we talked about but just never got around to doing. We can safely assume that my retreat at Expanding Light was a major motivation for this, but mostly, we were just craving the stillness.

So now it’s day 20. Every meditation hasn’t been easy, but the positive impact on my life- priceless. I choose to spend the 5-20 minutes a day using a technique I learned at the retreat. Focused breathing for the first 6-8 breaths followed by either the repetition of an affirmation or simply inhaling with the word love and exhaling with the word light. I don’t beat myself up over other thoughts that arise; I just let them go as easily as they came. We are also huge fans of the Abraham Hicks meditation and do them intermittently as well.

The biggest difference I’ve noticed is the letting go of resistance and the allowance of living in the present. Clique as it sounds, my outlook on my career, finances and current state of being have all shifted more towards appreciation instead of angst and worry (I’m still working on it don’t get me wrong). A few days into regularly meditating, I had a memorable encounter with a man at Nordstrom Rack.  I was on line buying a pair earring for $7.97 and he insisted he purchase them for me along with two Burberry perfumes, one for me and one for my friend who’s birthday dinner I was attending that evening. He looked at me and said, I believe everything we give, we receive- it all comes back, it’s a continuous cycle. He went to state he felt my energy and this was something he had to do for me, and then read me a poem he had written for his son about the beauty and renewal of springtime. That was it. I said thank you probably a hundred times, then proceeded with my afternoon in an almost euphoric state. Every time I wear the earrings or spray the perfume, I think of his message.

My hope is I continue this practice even if it’s not possible every single day in the future, but there is no need to worry about that now, right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jocelyndonn permalink
    May 2, 2013 6:01 am

    Starting 30 days of Meditation this month also. Great to hear that you and Chris are doing this!

  2. February 1, 2012 11:50 am

    🙂 I love this! So inspiring. 20 days is so impressive! And look at how things start to line up. So beautiful. xo

    • Jenna Markowick permalink*
      February 2, 2012 7:29 am

      Thank you Ashley 🙂

Leave a Reply

